I’ve got a right to be wrong
My mistakes will make me strong

Right To Be Wrong – Joss Stone

Yes, this time I’d like to cover the right to be wrong…. Thanks to Joss Stone for singing such beautiful song….

Yes. I agree with Joss Stone. In my opinion, everyone is allowed to be wrong, in any ways necessary. Eventhough mistakes are often rendered as imperfection, you need those mistakes to improve yourself. In fact, I once heard (from a TV series) that someone needs to commit a mistake before deciding whether it it truly a mistake or not. So, mistake is not at all, in any ways, totally wrong.

Tonight, I experienced something that I think gave me a new point on doing mistakes. It is that the decision whether something is a mistake or not is different within every single individual. For example, earlier in the afternoon I ruined some Chinese ingredients (definitely not halal) deliberately, as I fully acknowledged what I was doing. Later this night, my brother got home and found that I violated the correct way to cook those ingredients. I, for most part, was disappointed heavily. But, since I don’t want any fights (as he will be enraged without any mercy and I wouldn’t be able to win the argument), I hold everything in my mind. Thanks to God, I managed to hold them to this time. Basically, not only my eldest brother that complained, but my second brother as well. In my thought, I don’t think I did anything wrong. I was clearly experimenting to find a new recipe, but then my brother came into the scene and ruined everything. Long ago, this would really discourage me, but today, I managed to repel those thoughts. Honestly, now I’d rather take pride on myself when he says that what I cook is wrong or not delicious. Why? Since I couldn’t help but to notice that he would still eat them in spite of his complaints. I also noticed that in spite of his opinion that his meals are “gourmet”, neither of the techniques nor spices that the real gourmet chefs practice are used.

Now, that was actually 2 examples of what I learned today. The first one involves my deliberate food-destruction. I think it’s not a mistake to create a revolutionary(okay, it’s a little bit exaggerated) dish such as my work, considering that I made a pretty delicious meal(I don’t have the intentions o being cocky). Yet, my brothers consider it as a huge mistake (is spite of their lack of motivation to taste my dish). The second one involves my eldest brother’s dish. I sometimes consider them a violation of vinegar code of conduct(if there’s any), yet my brother thinks it’s great. The difference between these two cases is that in the first case, they explicitly demoralized and even prohibited me from doing such experiment with food, while in the second case, I’ve never tell anyone about this. Theyhave explicitly taken away my right to be wrong. They demand sheer perfection, while they can’t even achieve such thing!

Well, to be honest, this matter is basically too complicated to be shared here, in my blog. This means you might need to ask me personally what my actual problem is…..